Ronaldo wins Ballon d'Or

12 January 2015 14:19:14 EST

Real Madrid and Portugal star Cristiano Ronaldo has been named as FIFA's Ballon d'Or winner for 2014.

Ronaldo, who scored 52 goals in 43 matches during the 12 months, beat off competition from Barcelona's Lionel Messi and Bayern Munich goalkeeper Manuel Neuer to scoop the award.

Meanwhile, Germany's Joachim Low was named as coach of the year after he guided his team to World Cup glory.

Low was handed the accolade ahead of Real Madrid's Carlo Ancelotti and Atletico Madrid's Diego Simeone.

Colombia midfielder James Rodriguez won the Puskas award for the goal of the year following his brilliant strike against Uruguay at the World Cup in Brazil.

Rodriguez, who moved to Real Madrid from Monaco in the summer, saw off Netherlands striker Robin van Persie and Irishwoman Stephanie Roche to win the trophy.

Real Madrid are 1/1 to win the La Liga title this season and 1/1 to lift the Champions League for the second year in a row.

What's your view? You can get involved and debate this story with bet365 on Twitter, Facebook & Google+.

Don't forget all of the fantastic markets we have to offer, including In-Play betting, can be accessed on your mobile phone with the new and improved bet365 On The Move.

View all Soccer betting