Taylor saluted for ODI record

21 February 2019 04:58:18 EST

Ross Taylor had the crowd on their feet at Dunedin's University Oval as he became New Zealand's leading ODI run-scorer.

The veteran started the third one-dayer against Bangladesh needing 51 runs to overtake Stephen Fleming - who was his first Black Caps captain - and claim the record.

It was nice to get to 8000 runs and it was a lovely reception that I got, very humbling from this crowd.

Ross Taylor

Taylor had earlier become the second Black Caps batsman to reach 8,000 runs.

He passed both landmarks in his 218th ODI appearance, passing Fleming's 8,007-run total with a single off Mehidy Hasan in the 33rd over.

The 34-year-old has made five centuries and 15 fifties in one-dayers since the start of 2017.

"I knew I was close at the start of the day," said Taylor, whose record was greeted by a standing ovation in the Black Caps' 88-run victory.  "It was nice to get to 8000 runs and it was a lovely reception that I got, very humbling from this crowd.

"If you play long enough, some of these records come along. It's nice to set the bar for the next guy - probably [Martin Guptill] and Kane [Williamson] after that."

The right-hander was eventually dismissed for 69 from 82 balls, having hit seven fours in his knock.

Taylor needs 650 more runs to overtake Fleming's 7,172-run record in Tests for New Zealand.

He has scored 6523 runs from 90 Tests, while Fleming's 7172 total came from 111 matches.

Taylor, who already holds the record for the most ODI centuries by a New Zealand batsman (20), was only dismissed once during the Bangladesh series for a combined 135 runs over three innings.

Tim Southee, who took six wickets in the final ODI, said of him: "Ross has been a great player for a long time and it was a matter of time before he started to knock off the records. His form continues and long may it continue."

New Zealand are 1/16 to win the Test series against Bangladesh, who are 16/1 with the draw 14/1.

New Zealand are 10/1 to win the 2019 Cricket World Cup.

View all Cricket betting