India win sets up T20 series decider

09 February 2019 06:46:15 EST

Rohit Sharma led the way as India levelled their Twenty20 series against New Zealand with a seven-wicket victory.

The tourists chased down their target of 159 with seven balls to spare at Eden Park to set up a decider in Hamilton on Sunday.

Sharma scored 50 off 29 balls, passing Martin Guptill to become the highest run scorer in international T20s.

That came after India had restricted the Black Caps to 158 from their 20 overs, with Krunal Pandya taking 3-28 from his four overs.

One of Pandya's wickets came in controversial circumstances as Daryl Mitchell was given out lbw for one and had the decision confirmed despite replays and hot spot seeming to confirm he'd got an inside edge.

Tim Seifert and Colin Munro both made 12 from as many balls, with Seifert being caught behind off seamer Bhuvneshwar Kumar just after taking 10 runs off the first two balls of his over.

When captain Kane Williamson was trapped in front by Pandya for 20 off 17 balls it left the Black Caps 50-4.

Colin De Grandhomme produced his highest T20 score to help get them out of trouble, blasting four sixes on his way to 50 off 28 balls.

Ross Taylor made 42 off 36 balls before being run out off the last ball of the penultimate over.

India were 50 without loss at the end of the power play, with Sharma then falling in the 10th over when he was caught by Tim Southee on the leg-side boundary off Ish Sodhi.

Rishabh Pant helped finish off the run chase, ending unbeaten on 40 off 28.

New Zealand are 6/5 to win the third Twenty20 international against India, who are 4/6.

Rohit Sharma is 9/4 to be India's top batsman.

View all Cricket betting