Weatherald stars as Strikers win title

05 February 2018 07:02:12 EST

Adelaide Strikers won their first Big Bash League title thanks to Jake Weatherald's century in the final against Hobart Hurricanes.

Weatherald hit 115 from 70 balls in the decider at Adelaide Oval, helping his side reach 202-2.

D'Arcy Short, the competition's highest run-scorer, led the chase along with veteran George Bailey but the Hurricanes fell 25 runs short.

Short hit 68 from 44 balls while Bailey made 46 from 33 deliveries, the duo putting on 81 runs for the second wicket before Bailey was caught at the long-on boundary in the 11th over.

Short finished the campaign with 572 runs at 57.32 while the next three highest-scoring batsmen were all from the Strikers - Alex Carey, Weatherald and Travis Head.

Legspinner Liam O'Connor, playing his first game of the tournament, helped restrict Hobart as his initial three overs cost just 16 runs - he finished with 0-27.

When paceman Peter Siddle dismissed Ben McDermott, the visitors required an unlikely 82 runs from 30 balls. Siddle produced a superb spell of 3-17 from the most economical four overs of the match.

Earlier, Weatherald cracked the first century in a BBL final, and the competition's third-highest score.

The left-hander smashed eight sixes and nine fours, reaching his ton from just 58 balls to thrill the 40,732-strong crowd. He combined with his captain Travis Head (44 not out from 29 balls) for a rapid 140-run partnership from just 13.2 overs.

Tom Rogers was the Hurricanes' most economical bowler, with 0-30 from his four overs but only Jofra Archer (1-46) took a wicket in the first 18 overs.

Meanwhile, Australia are 8/15 to win their tri-series clash with England, who are 15/2 and New Zealand. Captain David Warner is 10/1 to be Australia's top batsman in the series.

View all Cricket betting